Friday, 17 August 2012

Release Me

A little more... 

RELEASE ME is due to be released next month. Retailers, including Amazon and Elusive Disc, list the release date as September 25 (the CD release will be out a week later on October 2) and the track listing as follows: 

1. Being Good Isn't Good Enough (from Hallelujah, Baby!)
2. Didn't We
3. Willow Weep For Me
4. Try To Win A Friend
5. I Think It’s Gonna Rain Today
6. With One More Look At You (from A Star Is Born)
7. Lost In Wonderland
8. How Are Things In Glocca Morra?/ Heather On the Hill (from Finian’s Rainbow/Brigadoon)
9. Mother And Child
10. If It’s Meant To Be
11. Home (from The Wiz)

Barbra has appeared on Broadway in I CAN GET IT FOR YOU WHOLESALE and FUNNY GIRL, for which she was nominated for a Tony Award. She won the 1968 Academy Award for Best Actress for the role in the film version of the musical. Her next two movies were also based on musicals, Jerry Herman's Hello, Dolly!, directed by Gene Kelly (1969), and Alan Jay Lerner's and Burton Lane's On a Clear Day You Can See Forever, directed by Vincente Minnelli (1970). 
RELEASE ME features previously unreleased recordings from Barbra's career. "It was quite interesting to go through the vaults, find these recordings and hear them again with the benefit of hindsight," Barbra says of the record. "You could say I’m more forgiving of myself now. In fact, I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I actually like the overall recordings, even with their flaws. Although I could have re-sung certain lines where I thought they could be improved, I decided to leave every vocal the way it was."